Salvator Doppel Bock

Name: Salvator Doppel Bock
Style: Doppelbock
ABV (%): 7.9
Brewery: Paulaner Brauerei GmbH & Co. KG

I don’t necessarily want to make a habit of reviewing one style or one brewery two weeks in a row, but I bought this one in conjunction with last week’s doppelbock, so c’est la vie.  This was poured from a 1 pt. 9 oz. bottle into a freezer-chilled pint glass.

This looks more like a dubbel.  I dunno.  I do still get confused by differences in beer styles.  Don’t judge me.  Amber/caramel in color.  Thick and a little murky.  It almost looks unfiltered.  The head is thick and rich, and it lingers for some time, eventually leaving a milky lace.

It smells like a dubbel, too.  A lot of biscuit and yeast with just a little bit of fruit.  I’m even more confused now.  This reminds me of Belgian beers more than German.

It tastes like a dubbel!  Can we call this a bock?  To clarify, dubbels tend to be quite fruity and are not to be confused with doppelbocks, even though the name means double bock.  I guess this is a little bit thicker, creamier, and maltier.  But it certainly doesn’t taste like the doppelbocks I’m used to.  While it does taste fruity, the fruit is not very prominent, and I can’t pinpoint any one flavor.  It’s fairly complex.  The malt and hops are both fairly mild.

This beer is not overly rich in flavor, but it is very rich in body.  It goes down super smooth with a pleasant aftertaste that is almost like biscuit and jam.  It’s a bit thick, but it doesn’t leave that feeling behind like soda does.
I don’t know that I have a full handle on this beer.  It’s tasty, but a little too heavy and rich for my stomach.  Certainly an enjoyable beer, but there is nothing spectacular about it.  Something about it hints at excellence, but it doesn’t quite get there.

Look: 8
Smell: 7
Taste: 8
Feel: 8
Drink: 5
Overall: 7.4

Leave a Reply

