Chimay Première (Red)

Name: Chimay Première (Red)
Style: Dubbel
ABV (%): 7.00
Brewery: Bières de Chimay (Abbaye Notre Dame de Scourmont)

The famous Chimay Red!  Let me start by saying I love Love LOVE the Blue!  It is on my Top 5 Beers List (which will eventually be hyper-linked to an actual list), and I’ve certainly been anxious to try another Chimay.  This one was on sale and has been beckoning to me from my fridge for about 2 weeks!  Poured from a 1 pt. 9.4 fl. oz. bottle into a freezer-chilled glass.  I love the sound of the cork popping.

This thing, like the Blue, pours with quite a head.  When pouring, aim for half a glass.  That’s all your getting, unless you want the head spilling out over the lip.  But I digress.  This thing is so beautiful!  Golden caramel, with a thick and frothy head.  The head doesn’t subside much, with a lot of lacing left behind.

Biscuits and red fruits in the aroma.  Something tropical, and maybe a bit of fig.  There is a lot of experience in this beer.  I feel like I’m about to have breakfast.  Biscuits, jam, and honey.

Heavy biscuit taste.  Not as fruity as I expected from the nose.  Not even fruity as far as dubbels go.  I definitely taste fig and honey.  Prevalent malt, but not overpowering.  It behaves itself behind the other flavors.  Again, like the Blue, this has perfect hops (maybe the same used in both beers?).  This thing would be absolutely AWESOME with a steak.

Sooo easy to drink.  Smooth all the way down.  No sharp bite on the tongue.  Just enough bitterness to cut through some red meat.  Might also go good with a pork chop.  It feels a little heavy (see biscuit references?), but not too heavy.  This is probably a “one and done” beer, but not because it’s too much.  Rather, it is just enough.  I feel so content and satisfied after every single sip.

Normally, I rank the drinkability of a beer both on whether I would like another after I finish and whether I can physically have another.  At 7%, this is strong, but not too strong.  And it may be the exception to the rule.  While I certainly have no desire for a second beer, I am satisfied to the fullest (with the exception of a steak).

Look: 9
Smell: 9
Taste: 9
Feel: 9
Drink: 10
Overall: 9.1

Leave a Reply

