WychCraft

Name: WychCraft
Style: English Pale Ale
ABV (%): 4.50
Brewery: Wychwood Brewery Company Ltd

Emily picked this one out.  I needed a new beer to try.  She’s nervous that I won’t like it.  I’m not.  I’m not a fan of English Pale Ales, but I’ve not run across many bad microbrews.  This one was poured from a 1 pt. 0.9 oz. bottle into a freezer-chilled pint glass.

This beer has a beautiful color.  Crisp and clear amber.  Other than that, nothing too remarkable.  The head leaves fast, but leaves a thin haze over the beer and around the edge of the glass.

Smells wonderful.  Clean and crisp.  It smells like spring.  Clean alcohol, full of citrus, I almost smell apple juice.  Maybe some white grape.  How interesting.  The smell isn’t deep, but it’s very complex.  I’d be interested to get other opinions.

The taste is much different from the smell.  I taste all the hops and malt up front, followed by a bit of biscuit, and then the citrus.  The fruit isn’t as noticeable in the flavor as it is in the nose.  How sad.  I was hoping for some complex citrus like in the Duvel!  The yeast and hops linger a bit after the other flavors have gone.

The bottle says this is a “Blonde Ale”, but I have no idea why they put that on there.  It doesn’t drink like a Blonde Ale.  A little bitter and unbalanced on the tongue, but it goes down smooth.  Surprisingly light on carbonation.  My palate is confused.

Very drinkable, if only mildly enjoyable.  It’s full of surprises.  The smell was awesome.  Rich with multiple fruits.  The taste went a completely different direction.  Bitter aftertaste, dominated by every flavor other than fruit.  This is a decent beer, but overpriced.  I am interested in trying others from Wychwood.

Look: 7
Smell: 8
Taste: 4
Feel: 5
Drink: 6
Overall: 5.7

Leave a Reply

