Wee Heavy

Name: Wee Heavy
Style: Scotch Ale / Wee Heavy
ABV (%): 6.50
Brewery: Belhaven Brewery Company Ltd.

Another BevMo grab.  I love the texture of Belhaven Scottish Ale, and something about it is just very satisfying.  I also haven’t found a Scotch Ale I didn’t like, so this was a logical choice!  This was poured from a 1 pt. 6 oz. bottle into a freezer-chilled pint glass.

This guy definitely doesn’t share the head of the Scottish Ale.  That guy maintains its head forever!  This one was gone in 30 seconds.  I had high expectations for the head.  Even the Beeradvocate guys carried on about it.  They were wrong!  Also, nothing special about the color.  Thick caramel, but not as lacey as I was expecting.

Doesn’t smell like much.  A little yeasty.  Similar to Samuel Adams Scotch Ale, but weaker.  A bit of wood.

But oh, the taste!  I’ll admit, standards dropped when I stared and sniffed, but it’s still quite tasty.  Yeasty, like I said, but the scotch malt notes are definitely there.  It’s an odd clash of flavors, really.  I’m conflicted.  The malt is delicious.  Not too sweet, definitely not overwhelming.  The bitterness is a perfect balance, which I’ll admit, I find unusual for some Scotch Ales.  The yeast is what throws me off, and I must admit, it sullies the rest of the flavors.

The mouthfeel on this is almost as good as the Scottish Ale.  I know I shouldn’t compare the two, but that’s what I really love about this brewery.  It’s quite smooth and creamy.

I’m not against yeasty beers, but this just doesn’t do it for me.  How do I rate this on drinkability?  On the one hand, this isn’t a beer I would ask for a refill on.  On the other hand, I definitely could use a Belhaven Scottish Ale!  This beer set me up!

This scored almost 2 points lower overall.  My recommendation is, if you want a Belhaven, grab their flagship beer.  If you want a Scotch Ale, grab a Moylan’s Kilt Lifter.

Look: 5
Smell: 4
Taste: 6
Feel: 6
Drink: 3
Overall: 5.1

One thought on “Wee Heavy”

  1. Mom and I are going to the Scottish games in San Diego in June. I’ll be sure to drink plenty of beer for you.

    Unless… you’d like to join us… =)

Leave a Reply

