The Reverend

Name: The Reverend
Style: Quadrupel (Quad)
ABV (%): 10.00
Brewery: Avery Brewing Company

This one arose from a trip to BevMo.  Which arose from a craving for a new microbrew.  I’ve tried and reviewed three Avery beers before (the Beast Grand Cru, Samael’s Ale, and Mephistopheles’ Stout), but it’s been a good 5 or 6 months, and quadrupels were calling my name!  This was poured from a 1 pt. 6 oz. bottle into a freezer-chilled pint glass.

Beautiful golden ale.  Almost amber in color.  Fairly creamy head.  Looks like a belgian ale.

The nose on this thing will dilate your pupils.  It’s like candy!  I feel guilty having this before dinner!  Malt, caramel, I smell some butterscotch somewhere in there, too.  If you’ve ever had an Avery beer, they all smell like someone melted down a bunch of brown sugar and/or caramels and stirred them into the brew.

Smells like candy, tastes like candy.  Super rich, but a bit of crisp bitterness that I’m not used to in an Avery beer.  It’s a better balance of hops and malt than you would get from the Beast, Samael’s Ale, or Mephistopheles’ Stout.

This thing is pretty easy to drink for a 10% beer.  But I fancy quadrupel ales, so that could just be me.  Like I said before, it’s very rich.  It’s very nice on the tongue, but I would venture to guess this will upset an empty or weak stomach, due to the sugar content.

I like it.  Despite the quick buzz, the flavor is solid, and it has an amazing mouthfeel for such a high ABV.  In fact, were it not for the ABV, I might give this a 9 in drinkability.  I recommend sharing this with a friend, because this beer may very well get you drunk.

Look: 8
Smell: 8
Taste: 7
Feel: 8
Drink: 8
Overall: 7.6

Leave a Reply

