Kilt Lifter Scotch Ale

Name: Kilt Lifter Scotch Ale
Style: Scotch Ale / Wee Heavy
ABV (%): 8.00
Brewery: Moylan’s Brewery

One of my employees got me this bottle.  I poured it from a 1 pt. 6 oz. bottle into a freezer-chilled pint glass.  It pours smooth, with the perfect amount of head.

Excellent color for a scotch ale.  Brownish with a red tint.  Like a strong ale, but darker and a bit murky.

Sniffing this thing is like walking through a brewery.  I don’t just smell Scotch Ale.  Or if I do, it’s an incredibly complex one.  Smells of rich malt, caramel and candy, as all scotch ales do.  I also smell something a little unrefined.  Maybe tobacco?  Almost like a cigar.

I definitely taste tobacco.  I would love this guy with a cigar.  I expected a rich malt from the nose, but I didn’t taste that at all.  The malt is shockingly subtle.  The tobacco is at the wheel in this beer.  Tobacco is driving a little recklessly, though.  The more I drink, the more I think tobacco should slow down.  The hops are right where they need to be.  Smoky and mellow.  This does not taste like an 8% beer.  Don’t be fooled!

The hops are sharp on the tongue as they should be, but not harsh.  The tobacco is heavy enough on the tongue that I recommend sipping this beer.  It goes down beautifully when sipped.  Take a gulp and you’ll see what I mean.

I definitely enjoyed this beer.  I just don’t know that I would have another.  I just can’t stress enough how powerful the tobacco is.  It gives a great flavor, but it doesn’t give a lot of drinkability.  At the end, I feel the way I do when I have a good cigar.  That was delicious, but I won’t be having another for quite some time.

Look: 8
Smell: 9
Taste: 8
Feel: 7
Drink: 4
Overall: 7.7

Leave a Reply

